‘Big Magic’ by Elizabeth Gilbert [ REVIEW ]

big magic

One of my goals for 2015 is to get back to my roots and read more books. As the great Frederick Douglass said, ‘Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.’ Books are a passion – nay, an obsession of mine and always have been. I grew up in the library and my parents fostered my love of reading and learning. With books I have lived a thousand lives, found myself absorbed in different worlds, and learned immensely more than I could have otherwise. So put up your feet, grab a good paperback and let’s get reading!

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert (author of ‘Eat Pray Love’) is a very unique and inspiring book. Gilbert speaks of one’s courage to step beyond the restrictions they place around themselves to be free to accept ideas as they come to them. Ideas are a living thing that come to a person and go to another if they are not accepted or nurtured. She gives examples of how ideas have come and gone from her and others.

While I don’t necessarily think about the creative process the same way that Gilbert does, it is still a very inspiring book. She writes that people are scared of their own success. If it is not perfection we do not want to send our creation out into the world. She says it is much better to create and create and create and see what works and what doesn’t.

Fear is boring.

Creativity is for the brave- but not the fearless.

Be curious, you never know where exploration will lead you.

five-stars-624x145

_________________________________

Click here to see my goals for 2015

You can also see my goals for 2014, 2013, 2012 and my bucket list!

 

Leave a Reply

