‘Username: Evie’ by Joe Sugg [ REVIEW ]

Username Evie

One of my goals for 2015 is to get back to my roots and read more books. As the great Frederick Douglass said, ‘Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.’ Books are a passion – nay, an obsession of mine and always have been. I grew up in the library and my parents fostered my love of reading and learning. With books I have lived a thousand lives, found myself absorbed in different worlds, and learned immensely more than I could have otherwise. So put up your feet, grab a good paperback and let’s get reading!

Username:Evie is a graphic novel by the Youtuber Joe Sugg and his ‘Sugg Squad’ team of an illustrator, narrator, bubble maker, etc. It is ambitious project and a good story. The illustrations are rich and interesting. The story line is easy to follow and uplifting. We follow Evie, a social outcast who is mourning the loss of her father and dealing with having to move in with her rival (and cousin’s) family. She enters the alternate universe through her laptop that her father created for her before he passed called E.SCAPE and her good heart spreads joy and happiness. When her cousin Mallory discovers the program and enters the alternate universe behind Evie her hatefulness spreads discord and creates monsters. It is a thrilling story that touches on bullying, friendship, forgiveness, love and self worth.

four_half-stars_0

_________________________________

Click here to see my goals for 2015

You can also see my goals for 2014, 2013, 2012 and my bucket list!

 

3 responses to “‘Username: Evie’ by Joe Sugg [ REVIEW ]

  1. Sounds interesting. Do you think it translates well for people who have not read many graphic novels?

Leave a Reply

