‘Ice Kissed’ by Amanda Hocking [ REVIEW ]

51Pvt-PaQSL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

One of my goals for 2015 is to get back to my roots and read more books. As the great Frederick Douglass said, ‘Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.’ Books are a passion – nay, an obsession of mine and always have been. I grew up in the library and my parents fostered my love of reading and learning. With books I have lived a thousand lives, found myself absorbed in different worlds, and learned immensely more than I could have otherwise. So put up your feet, grab a good paperback and let’s get reading!

The YA novel ‘Ice Kissed’ is the sequel to ‘Frostfire‘ – together they make up the first two novels in the Kanin Chronicles by Amanda Hocking.  This novel picks up right where ‘Frostfire’ left off. Our heroine Bryn Aven refuses to give up on her dream of serving the kingdom she loves by being a tracker, even though she is usually disrespected by her clan because of her mixed heritage. The fact that she is half Skojare puts her in the position of traveling to the glittering palace of the Skojare tribe to help them revamp their security after their queen goes missing. The Skojare people need protection from the same brutal enemy that’s been threatening the Kanin, and Bryn is there to investigate what really happened to the queen.

Byrn’s boss Ridley Dresden, (forbidden romantic interest) is overseeing the mission, and as they grow closer they throw caution to the wind. Delving deeper into the Skojare world, they begin to unravel a long-hidden secret. The dark truth about her own beloved Kanin tribe is about to come to light, and it’ll change her place in it forever…and threaten everyone she loves. I can’t give more away without ruining it, but I will say that I can’t wait for the final book in the Kanin Chronicles to be released in August so I can find out what happens next!

3-and-half-Star-Rating

_________________________________

Click here to see my goals for 2015

You can also see my goals for 2014, 2013, 2012 and my bucket list!

 

Leave a Reply

