April ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ]

One of my goals for 2015 is to sketch more. I’ve always loved art, whether it was admiring other’s work or creating my own. Over the past year I have been taking online classes through Sketchbook Skool. I found out about it before the first class and I’ve taken all three (plus currently their Bootkamp) that they have offered. They have inspired me to capture the everyday. They also inspired me to try new materials which has me on the hunt for the ‘perfect’ sketchbook as well as new products.

This month yielded a great box even though it had several products I already have and use:

Pentel Medium Aquash Brush

Designed for transport and storage on the go, it’s a handy tool for water coloring when you don’t want to lug around water with you. I actually already have an aqua brush, but not one with flat sides that will keep it from rolling around when you put it down. You can fill up the barrel with water or ink.

Pentalic Watercolor Pencils

Two different colors were in the box ready to be used with the Aquash Brush. They worked great, but no better than the cheap kind.

ZIG Millennium Fine Point Pen

One of my favorite sketching pens. I have multiple sizes in my regular sketching kit. These pens are great because they are made with acid-free archival quality, pure pigment color. The tip will last and the ink will for a long time as well.

Chartpak AD Marker

I used markers similar to this in school for my architectural renderings. This marker is different in that is has a cone shape tip designed to keep its shape intact. That’s good and bad as it will keep the tip from fraying as was an issue once in a while, but it also made me hold the marker differently. As I wanted to hold it the way I was used to the tip kept marking strangely. This would just be something to get used to.

Le Plume II Dual-Tipped Marker

This marker is water-based and made to stay wet longer than the average marker. They are recommended for brushing on rubber stamps and any other mixed media projects. This was the blue marker I used for the sky and water you’ll see above. Unfortunately so far I’m not very impressed with it. In the picture above it was used dry. I added water after and it went sideways really fast. I will try it again though in an application where it has a better chance to succeed like with stamps or while water coloring.

__________________________________

Click to see my ArtSnacks unboxing for: February, March

*This post is not sponsored

___________________________________

Click here to see my goals for 2015

You can also see my goals for 2014, 2013, and 2012 and my bucket list!

5 responses to “April ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ]

  1. Pingback: May ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ] | thegreentreeischirping

  2. Pingback: June ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ] | thegreentreeischirping

  3. Pingback: July ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ] | thegreentreeischirping

  4. Pingback: ArtSnacks Travel Collection Unboxing [ 2015 ] | thegreentreeischirping

  5. Pingback: August ArtSnacks Unboxing [ 2015 ] | thegreentreeischirping

Leave a Reply

