30 by 30: Trip to #28 West Virginia

1

One of my goals for 2015 is to visit 30 states by the time I turn 30.  It all started as an idea from a friend. The purpose is mainly just getting out there, making memories, and experiencing more of what  America has to offer. I have until September 9th, 2015 to complete this goal, so I better get traveling!! Pack your road trip gear and come along for the ride!

A few weeks ago (most) of my family went on a genealogy road trip! We knew the general location of a very old family farm in Ohio, and decided to go on the trip we’ve been talking about for years. We’ve always wanted to find it (again for my dad), clean up around the area, and get rubbings of the gravestones. The first state we drove through that I had never been in before was Indiana. I took over the wheel before we crossed the state line into Kentucky- a state I had not been in since I was two years old. Gosh, it is gorgeous. It was fun to see the iconic  long white fences indicating horse farms, and all of the signs tempting the driver to visit the next bourbon distillery. I drove literally all of the way across Kentucky on I64 into West Virginia. Each state is so unique- it’s so interesting to start out in one part of the country, drive a few hours and see landscape that’s so entirely different.

Let me just say, West Virginia is also completely gorgeous. We skirted around Charleston, and I drove north on I77 toward our final destination of Marietta, Ohio. The hills are so much fun to maneuver, and the landscape stunning in the waning light of day. By the time we reached our new home base I had drove over 300 miles through big cities and rolling countrysides. Pretty cool all around. Marietta is right on the Ohio River, so it was easy to hop back and forth. The first night we had dinner at a local Italian restaurant in Williamstown, West Virginia called Da Vinci’s. We also visited the Fenton glass factory/gift shop, which has been in business for over 100 years, and has even been featured on Mike Rowe’s Dirty Jobs. Sadly they were in the process of closing forever and so we picked through the last of the products and even the molds which were for sale. You can still find them online and in several gift shops though!

West Virginia was awesome!

That’s 28 down, two states to go!

___________________________

The states I have now been to are:

West Virginia

___________________________

Click here to read about my other 30 by 30 adventures: NevadaIndiana,

Click here to see my 2015 manifesto.

You can also check out my 2014, 2013, and 2012 goals- or my bucket list!

2 responses to “30 by 30: Trip to #28 West Virginia

  1. Pingback: 30 by 30: Trip to #29 Ohio | thegreentreeischirping

  2. Pingback: 30 by 30: Trip to #30 Utah | thegreentreeischirping

Leave a Reply

