‘Gifted Hands’ by Ben Carson, M.D. Review

Gifted Hands by Ben Carson

One of my goals for 2015 is to get back to my roots and read more books. As the great Frederick Douglass said, ‘Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.’ Books are a passion – nay, an obsession of mine and always have been. I grew up in the library and my parents fostered my love of reading and learning. With books I have lived a thousand lives, found myself absorbed in different worlds, and learned immensely more than I could have otherwise. So put up your feet, grab a good paperback and let’s get reading!

One of my friends found ‘Gifted Hands’ by Ben Carson, M.D. on an airplane, and after reading it then and there loved it and mentioned how great it was. I purchased it for my grandmother for Christmas, and she told me she couldn’t put it down. That was it, I had to read it too. Let me just say- this book is so good. Not only could I also not put it down, but it was an easy, quick and very entertaining read. The best part is Ben’s story. He chronicles his childhood growing up in inner-city Detroit up to his position as director of pediatric neurosurgery at John Hopkins Medical Institutions at age thirty-three. He tells of how hard he worked, his drive to be the best he could be, how supportive his mother was, and his deep faith that drove him in everything.

I have taken several things away after reading ‘Gifted Hands’. One thing I will detail here stems from how Ben’s mother would only let him and his brother watch three television programs a week, and how they had to read two books a week. The knowledge that Ben gained from that push from a loving mother who wanted her sons to accomplish all they could resonates with me. This is something I would like to implement in my future home with my future children. At the same time, this has inspired me to get back to my roots of reading. I actually do read a lot, but when I was young I would leave the library with a stack of books at least twenty strong. I grew up in the library and around literature, and I miss it. I can’t promise that I’ll read two books a week because after all I do have a job and a crazy puppy. However, I did join a book club, dusted off my library card, and collected a pile of books I have purchased and not read yet. So you can expect many more book reviews!

I was surprised to flip to the front of the book as I often do to discover that the original copyright is dated from 1990! I then looked up Ben Carson to see what he has been up to in the 15 years since the book was published. Big shocker (not)- he is now running for President of the United States! This book was inspirational, and has given me a renewed drive in different aspects of my life. That may sound dramatic and sentamental, but it is true. Please, pick up this book – you will not regret it! five-stars-624x145

_________________________________

Click here to see my goals for 2015

You can also see my goals for 2014, 2013, 2012 and my bucket list!

 

Leave a Reply

