You can teach an old dog new tricks!

This goal on my list- to go to a favorite restaurant that I order the same few things from and order something new was a challenge from a friend. I love the IMG_5400Cheesecake Factory restaurant- always have and always will. As a part of my 2013 Manifesto I tried a new dish there- the Tomato Basil Pasta, which was as delicious as it sounds. Normally I get the grilled cheese with fries (I started going to this restaurant at a very young age), and when I don’t order that I get the Four Cheese Pasta, which uses the creamy goodness of mozzarella, ricotta, romano, and parmesan. This new dish really doesn’t differ at all from my normal tastes- so even though I accomplished this goal, I didn’t really meet the spirit of the goal, to try something totally new. Until recently…

This past weekend I went to a restaurant that I had never been to before, Port Fonda in Westport. There I tried a dish that is more along the lines of the spirit of 2013-12-15 12.56.40-2why I put this goal on my list. I wanted to try something that I would normally never order- or even think about eating. This was such a dish. It was a chimichanga- normal enough, but what was inside- and on top made the difference. Usually I go for chicken or beef, hardly ever pork. Inside was pork shoulder, along with Chihuahua cheese, (made from a cow’s milk it is similar to cheddar cheese but tangy and sharper- it originated in the Chihuahua region of northern Mexico), and bacon. The chimichanga was so crisp, and was covered in poblano sauce, with a sunny side up egg and shredded radishes adorned on top. IT WAS THE BEST MEXICAN DISH I HAVE EVER HAD. Fulfill that goal on my manifesto? Mission accomplished.

Leave a Reply

