1 Year, 100 Movies: #43 Midnight Cowboy (1969)

Midnight_Cowboy_poster

For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

This is all I have to say about the next movie on the list- ‘Midnight Cowboy‘ – Blech. This is not my kind of movie in any stretch of the imagination. I will say Dustin Hoffman is always great- and continues to be so as “Ratso” Rizzo, and it was interesting to see a young Jon Voight as Joe Buck. But aside from any acting skills, the plot, and artsy/experimental visual style is not up my ally. The film is basically about the strange friendship that grows between these two men, and while yes- the acting is fantastic, that’s not enough to draw me in. This film was extremely edgy for 1969, including male prostitution, underground gay culture, drug use, and robbery. It was initially given an ‘X’ rating on the MPAA rating system, but was later on downgraded to an ‘R’- which I think is accurate. I suppose this film is so high up on the list because it shown a light on the inadequacies of the MPAA rating system, but it just doesn’t have the punch or long lasting quality I think a film should have to be ranked so high.

Meh. Onto the next one!

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

7uV6ZS_2

Leave a Reply

