1 Year, 100 Movies: #54 M*A*S*H (1970)

mash-movie-poster-1970-1020144181

For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

I’m about to make some people upset here. I didn’t like this film- I don’t see the point of it all, nor do I think it’s done well. It seemed like they just wanted to go for the shock factor. This is not even to mention that the film is cruel to the point of becoming misogynistic. The few female characters are little more than props for the male characters. The characters are casted well, and intentionally or not act as though the situation will never improve- if not for the setting in the Korean war and but for a few lines, they could be in a mid-level office. They are fine with the status quo. As much as I did not enjoy this film they do have one heart warming and funny scene where they go to great extent to get medical treatment for a sick Japanese baby.

Priorities and morals in this film are nearly always askew, and it appears that only the characters that know how to cheat most effectively are those that win. For whatever reason this was the director Robert Altman’s breakthrough film. I for one think his film ‘Nashville‘ was overall a much better film- and much more even-handed between the female and male roles.

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

zero-stars_0

Leave a Reply

