1 Year, 100 Movies: #68 Unforgiven (1992)

Unforgiven_1

For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

Unforgiven. Where do I start? Remember before when I said I’m not a big fan of westerns? This is a really good example of why. THERE WAS NO POINT TO THIS MOVIE. Yes, there is good acting, and yes Clint Eastwood is amazing as a cold hearted killer… but goodness. WHO leaves their very young children for an unknown amount of time without supervision just to go off and kill some guys? And yes, those cowboys did deserve to be punished, but did they deserve to die? I don’t think so.  There was no redemption for the Clint’s character, no redemption for Gene Hackman’s character, and no one really got what they were looking for in the end. The only part of this movie I found interesting was the final ‘shootout/showdown’ in the saloon. Clint Eastwood gets to prove how slick a gunslinger he is.

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

two_half-stars_0

Leave a Reply

