1 Year, 100 Movies: #70 A Clockwork Orange (1971)

A-Clockwork-Orange-1972-movie-poster

For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

A Clockwork Orange- this movie is one messed up cluster. I don’t really want to talk about it since frankly, it just made me sick 95% of the time, so I’ll keep this short and sweet. This movie is a train wreck it’s so awful, and so wrong, but you just can’t look away. Will it get better? No.. no it just gets worse. It’s basically about a corrupted youth, Alex (Malcolm McDowell) who handles his boredom with everything from recreational drug use, rape, and robbery to murder. I really don’t feel like going over what happens in the film, suffice to say he is arrested after he murders a woman and is sent to participate in a rehabilitative experiment after he’s been in jail for awhile. They basically ‘cure’ him of everything he’s been doing wrong, and then others use him as an example of what can happen under total government control. The center theme of the film asks if a man ceases to be a man if he can no longer choose his actions. Roger Ebert suggests that “A Clockwork Orange” attempts to make an argument against fascism, but only glorifies the protagonist. I do agree, the director Stanley Kubrik gets out of hand celebrating Alex’s actions.

So unless you’re just messed up in the head- or you just like ‘movie art’ no matter the content, this movie is not for you. I’m going to go wash out my eyeballs now.

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

zero-stars_0

One response to “1 Year, 100 Movies: #70 A Clockwork Orange (1971)

  1. It was really interesting reading your review of this. I recently started a similar movie challenge and like you I really disliked A Clockwork Orange. I can see stepping back from it the it probably was a groundbreaking film for its time and that it wasn’t really made to be liked – rather to shock and pose political and moral questions. But that still doesn’t detract from its grotesque nature and the sheer horror of some of the scenes. It really is a creepy movie to say the least.

    http://www.suchasillysausage.wordpress.com

Leave a comment