1 Year, 100 Movies: #79 The Wild Bunch (1969)

the-wild-bunch-1969-poster-51397bd8adc78For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

The Wild Bunch, directed by Sam Peckinpah is a Western film that stars aging cowboys trying to make it big before they retire. AFI lists it as #79 of their top 100, and in their “10 Top 10” it’s ranked as the 6th best Western. For the film they used a revolutionary style of filming using multi-angle, quick-cut editing, incorporating normal and slow motion images. It’s normal for us now, but it must have been a sight to see for the first time.

I can tell it’s a very well made movie, and there was some really great acting… but Westerns in general just aren’t my kind of movie. This one unfortunatly was no exception. I couldn’t get into the character development at all – to be honest I had it on in the background while I got other things done. However I did enjoy the last shoot out scene- (one of about a billion in this film)- it was the climax of the movie and is part of the dramatic ending to this long bloody movie. I’m sure many viewers absolutly love this film, I’m just not one of them.

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

two_half-stars_0

Leave a Reply

