1 Year, 100 Movies: #89 The Sixth Sense (1999)

the-sixth-sense-poster

For 1 Year, 100 Movies, I will watch all of AFI’s 100 Years, 100 Movies list (compiled in 2007) in one year- and will complete a goal on my 2013 Manifesto. Come along on the ride with me- oh, and please pass the popcorn!

The fact that I kind of liked this movie was so surprising to me. I’m not a ‘scary movie’ person by any stretch of the imagination, but this movie was teetering more on the psychological thriller side, a genre of movie that I appreciate more.  However the ‘surprise’ twist ending however was lost on me because this movie came out while I was in high school and inevitably I heard what the suprise ending was in the corridors- which made the entire viewing very different than what it would have been going into it unknowing.

First I must say that Bruce Willis is and will always be one of my favorite actors. His performace in this movie just cemented that fact further. A-MAZ-ING. Haley Joel Osment was also superb.

This movie is based on the idea that a troubled young boy, Cole Sear (Haley Joel Osment), is able to see and talk to the dead. A child psychologist, Dr. Malcolm Crowe (Bruce Willis) tries to help him. He suggests that Cole listen to them and try to help them if he can. Cole ends up following his advice and helps a girl reveal who her killer was. Cole tells his mother everything in the end, and she believes him when he tells her that her mother really did watch her dance recitals from the back- and gives her the answer to her question for her mother after she died, ‘Every day’. His mother reveals her question was ‘Do I make you proud?’ (Here starts the waterworks).  Then- and here’s the real spoiler- (don’t keep reading if you plan to watch the movie and haven’t!): Malcolm realizes that he is dead! He was the entire time he was helping Cole.

I was surprised how emotional it was- especially at the end. That was an element I didn’t expect at all, but I’m glad of it.

In my humble, non-professional, average movie-goer opinion this movie earns:

DownloadedFile

One response to “1 Year, 100 Movies: #89 The Sixth Sense (1999)

  1. Pingback: 1 Year, 100 Movies: #76 Forrest Gump (1994) | thegreentreeischirping

Leave a Reply

